ZP-TP polls: Mysuru leaves CM Siddaramaiah disappointed

dc-Cover-2mdae5r70a2v4ml7a19uub4bp5-20160224062654.MediCM Siddaramaiah

The Congress has only marginally improved its performance in the Mysuru ZP, although it is the home district of CM  Siddaramaiah. Of the 49 seats, Congress has won 22,  leaving it two seats short of  a clear majority.

In the last elections it had won 21 of the  43 seats although it was not the ruling party then. The JDS has retained its second position with 18 seats, and the BJP has come in third with eight, the same number it had won the last time.

The Congress also won only three of the six ZP seats in the CM’s home constituency  of Varuna.  As for the TP elections in Mysuru district, it has come in second to JDS, winning the highest number of seats in only three TPs , KR Nagar, Nanjangud  and  T Narsipur.  JDS has won in  Mysuru (20), HD Kote,  Periyapatna and Hunsur  taluks.

But the Congress has won a clear majority in the Chamarajangar ZP, bagging 14 of the 23 seats here, and leaving the BJP with nine. As for the  Taluk Panchayat elections here, the Congress has won in three taluks,  Kollegal, Gundlupet and Yalandur, while  Chamarajnagar has gone to BJP.

Congress had won all four TPs in the last election.  While the BJP has won 18 of the 29 seats in the Kodagu ZP, the Congress seems to be gaining ground here with 10 seats.  JDS has bagged one seat. Meanwhile, in the TP polls, the BJP has won a clear majority with 54 seats.


 The Congress has won 22 and JDS, three.  The JDS has performed the best in the Mandya  ZP, winning 27 of the 41 seats. Congress has won 13 and an independent. The party has won 92 of TP seats, leaving Congress with 51 and the BJP with three.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *